Nannie Kate Haggard would marvel at the journey her old house has made. Nancy Katherine Lunsford married Clinton Shepard Haggard in Collin County way back in 1859. The couple moved into the newly constructed, one-and-a-half story cross-gabled structure sometime after they purchased it from the Fox brothers in 1862.
A year ago today, the house began an epic relocation to a new, temporary resting spot on private land just north of Windhaven on the east side of Parkwood Boulevard in Plano.
The house, previously known as the Collinwood House, was the subject of much debate over roughly a four-year period while the City of Plano and local preservationists went back and forth over whether the home would ultimately have to be moved to make way for the construction of Windhaven Meadows Park. The home was discovered in 2014 to be the oldest remaining residence in Plano.
The house was moved again in July of this year to a brand-new foundation. This week Lemons House Moving will make its finishing touches to the foundation. Now known as the Fox-Haggard House, the building will settle onto its new pier and beam footing over the next few months. Exterior restoration and landscaping will follow, but already the old house looks right at home between an old, metal-clad barn and a leafy arbor of mature trees.
Nannie Kate’s house will once again represent the early frontier as she gets her cloak of shingles peeled away. Progress reports will keep all of Plano updated on the restoration of this iconic home, now back in the hands of the Haggard family. Drive by and feel grateful this architectural gem has been saved to enhance our appreciation for local history.