Collin County Students Selected for 2020 Congressional Youth Advisory Council

courtesy Congressman Taylor's office
courtesy Congressman Taylor's office

United States Congressman Van Taylor, who represents Texas’s third congressional district, recently announced the participants for the 2020-2021 Congressional Youth Advisory Council. The council was created in 2005 by then-Congressman Sam Johnson. This year’s group had its first virtual meeting Sept. 26.

Congressman Taylor runs the youth council as an opportunity to educate students about the federal government and to discuss public policy as well as Collin County issues.

“I continue to be impressed by the outstanding students and future leaders I meet through my Congressional Youth Advisory Council. It’s no secret Collin County is home to some of the brightest and most involved students in the nation who seek to energize, advocate, and lead their generation by making a difference,” shared Congressman Taylor.

This year’s council consists of 45 Collin County high school students. Applicants were accepted based on leadership skills, academic performance, extracurricular participation and community service.

The council includes: Mysha Khan and Avery Van Scoy of Allen High School; Tarik Salih of Dallas International School; Krutin Devesh of Greenhill School; Micah Sanchez who is homeschooled; Sahithi Alla, Ethan Ong, and Rhea Sood of Imagine International Academy; Kevin Sun of Jasper High School; Harrison Karicher, Connor McSorley, and Jacob Reed of Jesuit College Preparatory School; Jai Gupta, Srinjoyi Lahiri, and Param Naik of Lebanon Trail High School; Karis Fulks of Legacy Christian Academy;

Ian Bensley, David David, and Ariel Feldman of Lovejoy High School; Madilyn Eckenrode and Pranavraj Prithviraju of McKinney Boyd High School; Ariana Palomo, Sean Reyes, Ella Streber, and Kylie White of McKinney High School; Kody Blackwood and Kaylie Mowell of McKinney North High School; Ryan Oltmann of McMillen High School; Bishop Curry of Melissa High School; Stephanie Gallagher and Asher Raza of Memorial High School;

Hannah Abraham, Campbell Morrow, Sophia Rahim, and Pranav Varanasi of Plano East High School; Carlos Betancourt, Isabelle Ma, and Christian Pressler of Plano Senior High School; Rithvik Ganesh and Tanya Magesh of Plano West High School; Luke Montgomery of Prestonwood Christian Academy; Alexandra Vincent of Rock Hill High School; Devon Jackson of Shepton High School; Philip Kang of Texas Connections Academy; and William Davidson of Wylie Preparatory Academy.

Though the program will evolve as the year progresses due to the unpredictable nature of the pandemic, past years have touched on a variety of important national issues. Congressman Taylor’s 2019-2020 council met about veterans and the military, law enforcement, the judicial system, the COVID-19 pandemic and service and leadership. Speakers ranged from veteran John Wayne Walding to U.S. Federal District Judge Richard Shell to Nick Marino, director of social change at Tango Tab.

Congressional Youth Advisory Council >
Written By
More from Hunter Lacey
Chaparral Boots
Born and reared in southwest Kansas, Alfredo Sanchez never knew a day...
Read More
Leave a comment