Best of Plano Chamber Awards

On Oct. 6, 2016, the Plano Chamber of Commerce honored outstanding citizens and business professionals at the annual Best of Plano Awards. The dinner and awards ceremony is held to recognize Plano’s best and brightest – individuals and organizations that work hard to create a better Plano. Honored this year were:

Citizen of the Year: Harvey Fishero, former CEO of Hospital Corporation of America

ATHENA Leadership Award: Sara Egelston Akers of North Texas Performing Arts

Community Partner of the Year: Hope’s Door, accepted by Jim Malatich

Outstanding Corporate Citizen of the Year: Cigna, accepted by LaMonte Thomas

Rookie of the Year: Taco Diner, accepted by Javier Ventura

Business Executive of the Year: Rusty Gentry of Toyota of Plano

Small Business Person of the Year: Doug Trumbull of Doug’s Mighty Clean!

Fred Moses Minority Business Development Award: Janelle Twyford-Silvis of AlleeOops Photography

Rising Star: Monica Shortino of Capital One

Sponsors of the this year’s event included Medical Center of Plano, Texas Instruments, The Shops at Willow Bend and Mercedes-Benz of Plano.

Photos by Photography by Misty // Click to enlarge:


More from Jennifer Shertzer
Arbor Hills Nature Preserve
I had kind of forgotten what a park looks like. I do...
Read More
Leave a comment